Saturday, February 21, 2015

From a Sentence to a Book Series

As some of you know (perhaps all of you), February 23rd will bring the debut of Honor: Second Novel of Rhynan.

Amazon Preorder Link -

The Earl of Dentin excels in his position as Securer of the Realm. But the king’s order to pluck an orphaned child from a loving home unsettles Dentin. When a dark-eyed woman challenges his honor regarding the mission, Dentin finds himself unable to justify his actions or get her out of his mind. Something about her lack of fear intrigues him. 

Lady Elsa Reeve attempts to avoid the marriage of convenience her brother and mother demand of her. She understands the need to pay off her brother's massive debt. She only wants her family to consider her wishes in the process. 

As Elsa becomes further entangled in a snare of her brother’s creating, only one man defends her. But can she trust Dentin, her unlikely champion, and his motives? With a murderer on the loose, Elsa’s fate in jeopardy, and a traitor plotting against the king, Dentin finds his priorities shifting in an unexpected direction. 


The series began with a single opening sentence from a fan. The sentence spawned a short story idea. While writing out the idea, it became very evident that there was a novel's worth of material and the short story became Duty.

Right after I released Duty a reader and reviewer asked for more. She wanted me to write about the hero of Duty's best friend. Dentin's story was born, and Duty went from a standalone novel to the first novel in a series in that instant. The Novels of Rhynan series was born.

As typical of complicated characters (and Dentin is a complicated guy), Dentin's story has blossomed so that a single novel cannot contain it. Honor is only one piece of his journey and the timeline of the nation of Rhynan.

The Current Vision for the Novels of Rhynan series

Duty (published) - Tomas Dyrease (Earl of Irvaine) and Brielle Solarius' story
Honor (soon to be published) - Simon Cordale (Earl of Dentin) and Elsa Reeve's story
Faith (in plotting stage) - Wilard Noran and Constance's story
Courage (planned) - Darnay Dyrease (son of Tomas) and Magda's story
Loyalty (planned) - Linora Dyrease (son of Tomas and Brielle) and Lander Briaren's story

Linked Short Stories
Lisbeth's Redemption (a serial story currently appearing in InD'tale Magazine)
Passing the Mantle (written)
Forging Friendships (halfway written)
The Sword of Korma Monroe (written)
A Squire's Love (begun)
The Bittersweet Pear (written)

Stay tuned. 
There is much more to come in the story of Rhynan 
and the men and women that made her great.


Rachel Heffington said...


Laurie said...

Can't wait to read them all! Love the series!