Novels of Rhynan

Set in the medieval nation of Rhynan, a wild land north of Anavrea, west of the Northern Wilds, and well out of the way of anywhere, these novels follow the lives of some of its citizens as they navigate the journeys of love, family, and thriving in a land recovering from civil war.

Five novels are planned, but more could follow.


Duty: First Novel of Rhynan

Tomas Dyrease, the newly made Earl of Irvaine and the village of Wisenvale, owes his good fortune to his king and the recent civil war. When his benefactor demands Tomas marry the cousin of a noble, he obeys. However, no one warned him that she wasn’t a typical noblewoman.

Brielle Solarius struggles to keep her village from starvation under the new Lord Wisten, her cousin. The men rode off to war and never returned. The remaining women and children face a dire winter if they do not find a solution soon. When she learns her cousin sold her into marriage to save his life, she isn’t surprised. However, she is taken aback by Lord Irvaine’s unpolished ways. Was this man a noble or a foot soldier?

Bound by the words of their vows, they face a rough future. They must forge a marriage while battling betrayal, accusations of treason, and villains from the past. Survival depends on their precarious trust in each other. Failure could mean death.

Honor: Second Novel of Rhynan

The Earl of Dentin excels in his position as Securer of the Realm. But the king’s order to pluck an orphaned child from a loving home unsettles Dentin. When a dark-eyed woman challenges his honor regarding the mission, Dentin finds himself unable to justify his actions or get her out of his mind. Something about her lack of fear intrigues him.

Lady Elsa Reeve attempts to avoid the marriage of convenience her brother and mother demand of her. She understands the need to pay off her brother's massive debt. She only wants her family to consider her wishes in the process. 

As Elsa becomes further entangled in a snare of her brother’s creating, only one man defends her. But can she trust Dentin, her unlikely champion, and his motives? With a murderer on the loose, Elsa’s fate in jeopardy, and a traitor plotting against the king, Dentin finds his priorities shifting in an unexpected direction.

The Making of a Man: A Short Story Anthology

The Earl of Dentin returns. Eight stories ranging from short story to novelette in length give us greater understanding into why Dentin is the complex and enigmatic man he is. It also includes new adventures that happen between Honor and the next Rhynan novel.

Passing the Mantle – An ill-fated hunting trip
Forging Friendships – Recruiting able-bodied men ineligible for knighthood
The Sword of Korma Monroe – A sword made for trouble
Turning Point – A duke and an earl plot treason
The Bittersweet Pear – A marital misunderstanding 
Isbeth’s Redemption – Dentin doesn’t make a good first impression
A Squire’s Love – Reginald’s quest
Restoration – A trip to Braulyn produces unexpected company

Mercy: Third Novel of Rhynan

Constance Rendare, a young widow with a nine-year-old son, is seeking to escape the heavy servitude of her father's household. The upcoming journey to the capital to take advantage of the royal wedding and the business it produces offers her an unique opportunity to break free and strike out on her own with her son.

Three years ago, Willard Naron cut all ties to his family. Considering his father is the most notorious and wealthy money lender in the country, avoiding the connection is hard. Despite his best efforts, he feels as though he left behind unfinished business. Escorting the Earl of Dentin's wedding gifts into the capital city, also his home town, might offer him a chance to tie up loose ends.

Constance's father gets abducted and her sister disappears in the company of a young man of loose morals. Her father's dealings with earls about a royal commission comes to light and leaves her wondering what else he didn't tell her. Willard offers to help, but she isn't even sure she can trust him.

Project is in the editing phase.

Other Works in Process

Courage: Fourth Novel of Rhynan

Magda came to Rhynan as a child when the king married her mistress. Now as the king is dying and the court is caught in a whirlwind of gossip and political intrigue, she must fight for her ne home and the people she loves.

Darnay grew up in the households of powerful men and worked alongside his honorary uncle, the Earl of Dentin, but nothing prepared him for court life. He and his band of specially selected men are called upon to protect the queen through the difficult time of transition, but his greatest opposition comes from the queen's household it and the strong willed woman who runs it.

Loyalty: Fifth Novel of Rhynan

Linora Dyrease gave her heart away at the tender age of seven and never looked back.

  • Black Pinterest Icon

©2017 by Rachel Rossano. Proudly created with